Interview : In just three years, John has reached spectacular heights!

John Abraham is touted as one of the most sought after man of the industry. Bollywood goes gaga over him and he is the eye candy boy for the audience whom they cannot afford to miss. With his killing looks doing half the job, it’s not hard for John to get noticed in films and bag some real good offers under big banners and as well do some endorsements for big naming brands. With his filmograph touching new heights and big films like ‘Kabul Express’ and ‘Salaam-E-Ishq’ waiting for release, we are surely going to see more of him in the days t o come. So much name and fame has come your way in just three years. How do you feel about it?
For me appreciation from the people counts. And for where I stand today, I owe it all to the audience who have loved me and appreciated me. In true sense they’ve made me. They have liked the glamorous part of me and have also liked me as an actor. Whenever my fans tell me that they have liked me, I take it as a token of appreciation. I have also felt encouraged receiving debutante and best villain awards. But in spite of success coming my way, I’m still the same.
Do you think that people have accepted you as an actor or they still prefer you as glamour hero?
I entered the industry as a model and there was the common misconception then that models can’t act. I have taken my acting career very seriously and have been learning and growing up with every film. And it takes time for that. Veterans like Mr. Bachchan, Nana Patekar, Sanjay Dutt and Akshay Kumar with whom I have worked and also my directors have been very supportive and have always taught me. So I believe I’m improving. I’m happy that I’m a commercial star now.
Who is your worst critic?
My old school friends, they watch all my movies and always come up with honest opinion about it. I can count on them always.
Which is one film that you always want to do?
‘I am Sam’. It’s one of my favourite and the best film for me. But I believe that an ideal script will always have ideal role for all and I would love to do such films.
Are you happy doing the kind of films that you are getting right at this moment?
I’ve done ‘Zinda’ and ‘Taxi 9211’. I’m doing different films and stuffs at present. I’m doing films with Sriram Raghavan, Imtiaz Ali, Anurag Kashyap and Salaam-e-Ishq an innovative film by Nikhil Advani. All the films are different and I’m working with varied filmmakers. I’m doing films that are exciting me in some way or the other. I’m not ready to stick to a single screen image and would prefer experimenting. But I make sure that my audiences love me for the kind of films that I’m doing.
Tell us about your forthcoming film ‘Kabul Express’.
This is a film with Yashraj films, which I’ve signed 8 months before. As soon as I read the script I was sure that I had to do it. It’s a very different film and it’s encouraging that a big banner like Yashraj films has come forward to promote it. Arshad and I are two journalists who go to Afghanistan to interview a Talibani. There is excitement and humor to keep you on your toe throughout.
So is life ‘all work and no play’ kind for you?
There are films in hand and there is lots of work remaining to be done. But amidst everything I also manage time out for myself. I freak on traveling and have plans to go round the world. I want to ride parts of Europe and Silk Route on the bike. I’m planning something but it won’t be before a year. Have got stuck up after the bike accident, but I’m okay now and working. It was also a kind of break that I enjoyed.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jonh Neo says:

    You should visit a site msn music

Leave a Reply

